Karen Merifield

Chair of Governors

Katie Armstrong

Foundation Governor

Catherine Jordison

Vice Chair of Governors / Foundation Governor

Louise Robson

LA Governor

Father Jim Angus

Parish Priest

Joanne Wilson

Headteacher - Staff Governor

Jill Ord

Foundation Governor

Claire Mudd

Staff Governor

Nick McKenzie

Foundation Governor

Amy Jorgeson

Parent Governor


Terms of Office
Attendance at Meetings
Subject of Responsibility
Governor Committees
Business Interests
In a Catholic School the Governing Body is made up of representatives of the Stakeholders of the School, namely it’s Parish, the Parents of the pupils, the School Staff and a member, usually a councillor, nominated by the Local Authority.


In this school the ideal number of governors is 12 (from 1 Sept 2015) for all aspects of the committee work so that there is no duplication of responsibilities for critical committees.


The Governing Body is:-

7 Foundation Governors, nominated by the parish priest and appointed by the Bishop.

2 Staff Governors, Headteacher, and an elected staff member.

2 Parent Governors, elected by the parents.

1 Local Government Representative appointed by the Local Authority.

The Parish Priest is a Foundation Governor (one of the seven).


The Governing Body elects its own Chair and Vice-Chair.


The Governing Body is the employer of all teaching and support staff.


The day to day running of the school is delegated to the Headteacher who works closely with the Governors, particularly the Chair.


The Governing Body meets at least once each term.


Governors are appointed to sub-committees which meet at termly, The Committees are: - Curriculum, Finance and General Purposes, Pupil Welfare, Health and Safety, & Religious Education.


The Governing Body is responsible for the production and maintenance of all Policies.Governors are expected to attend where possible, Governor Training Sessions as arranged by the Local Authority and The Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle.


The Chair of Governors at St. Cuthbert’s School is in school each week and meets with the headteacher and other teachers as necessary to discuss school matters. The Chair is willing to meet parents who may have suggestions about school matters that will in general benefit the whole school and its pupils.The Governors run the Christmas Savings Club and the Uniform Club (to save for secondary school uniform) and are aware of and support all fund raising activities.


All governors meet regularly with individual teachers to follow progress of principal subjects.The Chairs of all Catholic primary schools in Hartlepool meet every term.


The Department for Education says:-


'We have high expectations of governing bodies. They are the strategic leaders of our schools and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education.This is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school’


In all types of schools, governing bodies should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

b. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

c. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


These functions are reflected in new regulations for maintained schools that came into force in September 2013 and in the criteria Ofsted inspectors use to judge the effectiveness of a school’s governing body.



Clerk to Governing Body

Governor Support Officer.
Child and Adult Services,
Civic Centre, Hartlepool. TS24 8AY


Chair Person of Governors

Mrs Karen Merifield
St. Cuthbert’s R.C.Primary School,
Stratford Road, Hartlepool. TS25 5AJ